Using the G word differently

I read the Daily Word, every day, a Silent Unity publication. It is the equivalent of the Fundy Christian Daily Word.

Today’s portion was interesting, in that it used the G (god) word more than usual. When I read this line:

I am protected at all times, safe and secure in the all-encompassing presence of God.

My reaction was, “Yeah, right. As if god will keep me safe if I get hit by a car.”

Then I realized that I could interpret that as inner strength. As in, “I am strong inside, and I remain cool and collected no matter what happens. I protect myself.  If anyone insults, patronize me, racially discriminate me, I protect myself by not taking it personally.”
I can draw that interpretation because I know that by “god” they mean ME–the perfect person I was before life ran all over me and shred me to pieces. I’ve read so in their literature (they actually mean the universe, of which I’m part). Then I went through the entire passage with that in mind, and what do you know? In the psychological realm, it all made sense. The portion contains positive words to live by, even if includes the G word that the majority uses so differently.
I guess the trick is to understand that all inspiration is strictly spiritual. And it is just that inspiration for inner strength. Once we’re pumped up, we go out there and “break” a leg.
PROTECTED
I am safely centered in God.

Spirit within guides my steps and lights my way. I am protected at all times, safe and secure in the all-encompassing presence of God.

Circumstances in the outer world cause me no fear, because my heart is full of God’s love, full of God’s presence. I acknowledge this powerful Presence, give thanks and center myself in its peace.

Where love, peace and confidence prevail, no harm can enter. God within me is a fortress of power and protection. My thoughts are positive and my words affirmative as I recognize my security in God within. I am calm and self-assured, helping others to feel safe and secure as well.

Leave a comment