My sister’s dream

I think in my heart of hearts I have always been a spiritualist. For the life of me, I have never been able to put behind me certain events that I’ve observed throughout my life. None of those episodes had anything to do with the Bible or with experiences in the Christian church, mind you. In church I mostly experienced the pettiness that some humans can show.

Psychic phenomena is one of those things that intrigues me. While I do realize that most psychics are fake, especially the public figures, there are instances of the phenomenon that I can’t sweep under the rug. I just can’t. I’m convinced that we are all connected in some fashion, to each other, to nature, and to all living creatures.

It was raining hard one night, when my sister, sleeping in a bed next to mine, woke up screaming at about 1 am. She yelled, “Don’t, don’t. Do not step on the ground. It’s full of mud. There is mud everywhere.”

Being more asleep than awake, I returned to my slumber. In the morning, when I woke her up to get ready for school, she said she was ill.

“I have a fever. I don’t feel well at all.”

“But you were OK last night. Do you have a cold?”

“No, it started when I had that nightmare in the middle of the night.”

Then my brother said that school was cancelled.

“Why?”

“Apparently there was a mudslide in the west side, at about 1 am. Hundreds of people are dead, buried in mud.”

My sister and I looked at each other. But we didn’t talk about it. It was too scary for our teenage minds to process. Her fever had gone away by midday. She was fine.

In my homeland, the poor often live on the hillsides, in cardboard made little “houses,” with very little protection from the elements. It is hard to forget an event that took so many lives in an instant.

7 thoughts on “My sister’s dream

  1. You see. That’s the type of thing some atheists will scoff at and honestly, how in the world can you do that with something like this? I’ve had my own type of things like this. I don’t necessarily jump to it meaning there is a god(s) or supernatural connections. In fact, I can’t jump to that conclusion. But I can’t or won’t discount stories like this because to do so seems cruel. How did your sister handle this and did this happen a lot with her?

  2. Exactly! Most atheists live in the realm of “if it isn’t proven it can’t be.” But the stuff is out there. They can’t all be lying. Certainly my sister wasn’t. I was there.

    It happened a few times with her. Once she saw her friend have an accident and then he was in one. I think she killed the instinct she was born with because she was told in church that the stuff is satanic.

    I don’t think that there is a god out there. But I think it’s possible that we’re all connected, and that there is some power in the union of all things. It’s probably all energy. So, it isn’t something you can or should worship. It also isn’t something to be afraid of. It is something to be acknowledged and possibly to make use of.

    • I also think that some people “kill the instinct” as you mention because they can’t handle it. It’s overwhelming. If you think of it as energy, then it’s energetically depleting and can be easier to let it go or ignore it.

  3. The whole atheists versus occurrences like this feels sort of redundant to me. I guess because I don’t even think I would define something like this as “supernatural”. It’s just something that we are not privy to, being so totally focussed on left-brain rationalism. There’s a whole world of right-brain stuff out there that balances the ship, stems the tide, gives us all the meaning we’re so thirsty for. And it doesn’t need to have anything to do with God (but then again I’m not arguing that it doesn’t, necessarily. Just that it doesn’t need to. And maybe that removing that association with God will help us understand it better.

    You know, if there is a God, I think s/he would be pretty understanding about the fact that we have shat all over beauty and mystery, and that for at least a time we need to not talk about God, not make reference to God, just so we can all get our heads straight. And then maybe we would have a better chance of seeing reality … and maybe seeing God. Whatever that is. Or isn’t πŸ˜‰

    Haha πŸ™‚ Ahhh, my brain is befuddled now.

    I love this story. It makes me feel … what? Comforted, that we have access to this way of knowing.

Leave a Reply

